What you need to know about the Gluten Free Pita at Pita Pit

No comments
We are pretty sure all Pita Pit locations now have the gluten free pita available.  But here is what you need to know about their gluten free pita:

  1. The gluten free pita did NOT break or fall apart!
  2. The gluten free pita was actually soft!
  3. Pita Pit is not a gluten free environment.
  4. Gyros, Falafel, BBQ Rib and Buffalo chicken are NOT gluten free
  5. From their breakfast menu, Meat The Day and Sausage Sunrise are NOT gluten free
  6. Teriyaki sauce is NOT gluten free
We went to the University location just on Whyte Ave.  We've also been contacted by the owner of the Jasper Ave. location about the gluten free Pita as his wife is Celiac, so they try to keep everything as clean as possible.

Keep up to date with their full allergen guide!

Pita Pit Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

No comments :

Post a Comment

Are Cheerios Gluten Free? What you need to make an informed decision

No comments


Please click here to read article from the CBC.


By now a lot of you know that Cheerios is slowly making their products gluten free.  A lot of the regular Cheerios you will already see labelled gluten free.  And some other lines like this Multi-grain cheerios has already been seen at places like Costco labelled as gluten free.

So what's the deal?  Are they or aren't they?  They are made of oats, and not wheat right?

Well, Amanda and I certainly have our own opinions on the matter, but I want to help you make your own informed decisions if eating Cheerios is right for you.

So a few links you can check out:

Here is information from Cheerios itself on its gluten free products: http://cheerios.ca/glutenfree

They also offer a link that talks about their process of making gluten free cheerios :http://cheerios.ca/glutenfree/ourgfprocess

Okay, so those first two links may seem a little bias, since it is coming from the manufacturer itself. Especially since there is still a population of Celiacs that still get sick when eating gluten free Cheerios or any oats for that matter.

The next set of links is from Health Canada who seems to have done some research on Oats.  As the Cheerios links say, oats are naturally gluten free, but cross contamination from other crops raises the risk of cross contamination.  So Health Canada has statements on Uncontaminated Oats and Specially Produced Oats.  I also want to share Health Canada's labeling regulations.  Finally statements from the Canadian Food Inspection Agency on Gluten-Free Claims.

I hope this helps everyone out a little bit better to make informed decisions about eating the gluten free Cheerios.

No comments :

Post a Comment

Gluten Free Options on the Taste of Edmonton Menu 2016

No comments
Taste of Edmonton 2016 is just around the corner starting July 21 and running until July 30!  Every year the Taste of Edmonton crew has done a great job at working with the chefs and restaurants at indicating gluten free menu items.

This year there are 18 gluten free items* from the food stands and an additional 7 gluten free items from the food trucks. *They label it as Celiac Approved.

To make informed choices about what you eat, I asked Taste of Edmonton how an item is approved for someone with Celiac.  The Media Coordinator, Alexandra Key Marichales told "...every restaurant and food truck provides us with information on all their dishes. This includes whether or not they are using local products, if their items are vegetarian and if their items contain gluten etc.".

Amanda's favourite item on the menu is the chocolate peanut butter truffle from La Trattoria.  We are surprised not to see New Asian Village, but are looking forward to trying the Khazanna butter chicken and the Casa12Doce Food Taco's!

Remember to use your instinct about eating foods.  Taste of Edmonton is a fast paste rushed environment so there is lots of chances for cross contamination.

You can click on the image below to download a PDF of the 2016 Taste of Edmonton menu.

No comments :

Post a Comment

NEW Quaker Gluten Free Oats

No comments
Kim recently shared this on our Facebook Page, that she found new Quaker Gluten Free Oats at Save-on-Foods.  The gluten free oats come both in instant gluten free oatmeal packs and quick oats containers

Quaker has posted an FAQ to learn more about their gluten free oats including "Does Quaker Test Their Products?" and "Does Quaker meet the government standard of 20 ppm".  Check out their gluten free FAQ.

We haven't seen these products first hand yet, but Kim says they have the Celiac Association Certification Program stamp on them.  Quaker does have other products certified through the certification program such like Quaker Crispy Mini's.

No comments :

Post a Comment