Gluten Free at Rice Paper Vietnamese Fine Cuisine in Edmonton's West End

5 comments
urbanspoon.com
I love it when collecting information is easy and restaurant owners are happy and quick to share what is gluten free on their menu.  Not only that, they answer my repeated questions.

We haven't tried Rice Paper yet, but I think after my back and forth emailing with owner Chris Phan, it won't be long until we pay them a visit.  He was pretty helpful and honest trying to explain what was safe for people with Celiac and what others with Celiac Disease would eat at his restaurant.

Here is what I was able to collect from Chris:
  • Salad Rolls (Substitute Peanut Sauce with Sweet Thai Chili)
  • Kim Chi and the Grilled meat Satay skewers are fine except for Beef Satay is not gluten free friendly
  • Salads
  • Most soups (Just ask)
  • Vermicelli is gluten free because it is all grilled meats 
  • Rice Paper Wrap (these you would wrap yourself with rice noodles, vegetables and your choice of meats) * Noted as a favourite for Celiac customers
  • Stir-fry (Just ask for gluten free sauces). 
  • Ginger Beef (Substitute beef with stir-fry chicken) 
    • Ginger Beef sauce is gluten free.  It has Tapioca Starch
  • Honey Glazed Chicken (Substitute Glazed chicken with stir fry chicken) 
  • Chow Fun is gluten free, made with rice noodle.  Chow Mein is not gluten free. 
Noted about Ginger Beef Sauce:
"The sauce for the Ginger Beef/Chicken contains tapioca starch but not wheat or flour. I am able to substitute the beef or chicken to a stir-fry because it is originally served with breaded meat. Also, the soya sauce is not gluten free. "
Rice Paper Vietnamese Fine Cuisine
10080 -178 Street N.W., Edmonton, AB T5S 1S5
(780) 483-8198 ‎
Email: p.chris.phan@gmail.com
Twitter: @RicePaper_yeg
Have gluten free questions about the Rice Paper menu?  Contact Chris Phan at p.chris.phan@gmail.com

Gluten Free Edmonton - A Celiac guide and resource for gluten free information in Edmonton, Alberta

Rice Paper Vietnamese Fine Cuisine on Urbanspoon

5 comments :

  1. When we make ginger beef at home, the recipe calls for soy sauce. Does their ginger beef sauce contain any (wheat containing) soy sauce? This which would obviously make the ginger beef not gluten free...

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi Kristin,

    I was told their ginger beef sauce contains tapioca starch instead of wheat. And you have to substitute the beef (that is breaded), with the chicken used in stir fry.

    Cheers,

    --Abisaac

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hi Kristin,

    You can purchase wheat-free and gluten free soy sauce! Not all restaurants are willing to buy it, but it is available. I buy the generic low sodium grocery store brand or VH or Thai Kitchen, however, I am aware that not all grocery brands although labelled as wheat free are necessarily gluten-free.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Kristen,
    I use BRAGG brand soy sauce
    http://www.bragg.com/
    it only has two ingredients. Soybeans and purified water. I have used it without issue. You can find it at planet organic (comes in a little spray bottle and sometime a large container as well)
    I use this all the time to make teryaki sauce.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks for the tip Kristen!

    --Abisaac

    ReplyDelete