What's Gluten Free from the Brand No Name?

After a gluten free "scare" of being told that something has gluten in it, when we thought it did not, I went on a search to see if I could find a list of gluten free products from No Name.  No Name is the discount brand for Loblaw's and can be found at Superstore locations around Edmonton.

Unfortunately I could not find much on the web about this discount brand, but because I knew it was a Loblaw's brand, I went to the Loblaw's website and found some customer service information.

During my conversation, I was put to rest after finding the answer to my question "Is your garlic powder gluten free?".  The answer from the operator was: "Yes it is gluten free and is made in a gluten free facility".  I then asked about their onion powder, and they said "Yes, but we are unable to confirm if it is made in a gluten free facility"

I did ask for this information to be listed on the web for easy access, but the best I got was an email back saying:

"Unfortunately at this time I do not have a list I can provide to you,  we do have a lot of information  we could provide based on UPC codes for our products.
If you have a few product s you would like to know, please forward  them to me and I will let you know if they are Gluten free or you can call 1-888-495-5111  and one of our representatives can assist you."
So basically, if you want to know what is gluten free from the No Name brand, just pick up the phone and ask them to look up the product you are looking to purchase.  They will have some sort of answer for you.

Also, it would be great to request for this information to be available online.  The more people that ask, the better chance they will put this information online for everyone to see.

Gluten Free Edmonton - A Celiac guide and resource for gluten free information in Edmonton, Alberta

Gluten Free Edmonton - A Celiac guide and resource for gluten free information in Edmonton, Alberta


  1. We bought pea flour from Superstore (Loblaws) and there wasn't even an ingredient list anywhere on the packaging. The number you listed was very helpful, however, and they were able to tell me that it was gluten free, however, they couldnt tell me anything else--like what KIND of peas (yellow, split, green, chick???) were used to make the pea flour! We havent had an issue but I dont know how to substitute it into recipes since I dont really know what it is. Funny!

  2. I live in Kelowna and the number was not available to find out if No name was gluten free (bacon) need to have a document on their bacon my husband found it great but I am still left wondering if No name bacon is gluten free?

  3. I am wondering if the no name hot chocolate is gluten free.. it has "Natural flavours" which could include barley malt.


Post a Comment