1. To be labelled or marketed as gluten free, products levels of gluten protein need to be below 20 ppm
"Health Canada considers that levels of gluten protein below 20 ppm generally do not represent health risks to consumers with celiac disease."
2. A product DOES NOT have to be made in a dedicated gluten free facility to meet the gluten free label requirements
"There are no regulatory requirements prescribing that dedicated facilities must be used in the production of gluten-free foods. Regulated parties are responsible for ensuring that sufficient processing controls are in place to consistently produce gluten-free foods that meet all regulatory requirements."
3. Health Canada allows oats to be labelled gluten free as long as they meet the standard requirements
"Health Canada has published a position indicating that the majority of people with celiac disease can tolerate uncontaminated oats, which are oats that have been specially produced to ensure they do not contain more than 20 ppm of gluten from wheat, rye, barley, or their hybridized strains."
4. No low gluten or reduced gluten claims are permitted.
"Low gluten" or "reduced gluten" claims are not acceptable in Canada.."
5. Gluten free beer claims are allowed with gluten free grains, but not with a non gf grain.
"Health Canada and the CFIA do not object to the use of a "gluten free" claim on a beer-like product derived from a non-gluten grain if it meets the requirements outlined for "gluten free" claims"
Read Health Canada's gluten-free claims section of their website.
Have any questions or concerns, reach out to your local Health Canada office responsible for labeling. Click here for contacts.